The Dutch Revolt (5 players)
The Diplomacy map of the Low Countries halfway the 16th century.
Open large map

Search for games:

Variant Parameters (Version: 1.1 / Code: 2.1):

Special rules/information:

  1. History:
    The map centers around the low countries, during the times of the Dutch Revolt and the 80 Years War. The Spanish Empire had a strong base around present day Luxembourg, with a great armada ready to sail from the homeland. The kingdom of France was the second southern power, and even today French is spoken across Belgium. The Crown of England built a fleet to match all the others combined, controlling the North Sea. The Prince-Bishopric Munster was the most western border of the Holy Roman Empire, bordering Frysland and the Wadden islands. The County of Holland, under Willem van Oranje, managed to gain enough influence to keep out the other powers. Establishing the Republic of the Seven United Netherlands, ushering in the Dutch golden age.
  2. The first turn: builds
    The game starts with a build phase for every power. Everyone starts with only 2 builds, but 3 SC's under their control. There is a special build for England the first turn: he always gets 2 fleets and he can build them on Upper North Sea, North English Coast or South English Coast.
  3. After the first turn: 1555
    Normal movement for all units. Each turn is 5 years, with a build phase after every 10th year (the first one after 1560). This variant is not build anywhere.
  4. The rivers and bridges:
    Territories with a river count as coastal areas. This means both fleets and armies can occupy and enter them. Convoys through rivers are not possible. Also, armies can not cross borders that are rivers, unless there is a bridge. If two areas share a border that is (even partly) non-river armies can move between them.
  5. Biesbosch and the West Wadden:
    These areas dry up periodically. They can be entered with both fleets and armies. They work like Constantinople in classic. In addition units can move through them, for example: a fleet in Biesbosch can move to North Brabant or an army in West Wadden can move to Texel.
  6. Middelburg and Goes:
    Middelburg and Goes are islands, this means they can be occupied by any unit. But armies can not move onto them without the use of a convoy. Fleets can move from Middelburg to Goes or from Goes to Antwerp with one step (and vice versa).
  7. Marsdiep, East Wadden, Schelde, South and North Zeeland: Despite having islands, they count as normal sea spaces. No armies can occupy them. In addition: fleets can move from Schelde to South Zeeland with one step.
  8. Spain:
    This special 'homeland' SC can not be entered by any unit and is always under Spanish control. It is used to build fleets. If this is the only SC left for Spain the country is defeated.
  9. The rest of the normal diplomacy rules apply.